Chocolate Almond Butter Chews

This is actually my first failed recipe since I started writing in this blog :-/

But since the result was still quite scrumptious, I decided to post about it anyway!

My original intention was to make these 5 Minute + 5 Ingredient No Bake Almond Butter Chews from Angela’s blog, but with the recipe doubled (since it only makes 7 golf ball-sized chews as is).  As implied by the name, it is a super easy recipe: simply stir together and microwave chunky almond butter, brown rice syrup and vanilla for 30-45 seconds, then mix in rice crisp cereal and cacao nibs or chopped chocolate.  Roll into balls and store in the freezer – voila, that’s it!

However, I knew my microwaveable bowl wasn’t big enough to handle the recipe doubled, so I decided to heat the almond butter, brown rice syrup and vanilla in a pot over the stove (which smelled AMAZING by the way), then mix in the remaining ingredients.  My mistake was that I ended up heating the mixture for too long – I essentially boiled it and then let it simmer for a few minutes, which I’m sure is way more heat than 30-45 seconds in the microwave.  When I mixed in the crisp rice cereal and chocolate, the chocolate melted right away, which I knew from the pictures on Angela’s blog was not supposed to happen…

Then I tried shaping the mixture into balls, but it was too wet and sticky.  So I poured it into an 8×8 dish, lined with wax paper because we didn’t have parchment paper…

and put it in the fridge, although the original recipe states to store in the freezer.  A few hours later I went to cut it with a knife, but it was just too stiff and sticky to make a dent in it :-/  So I ended up tearing out pieces of it with my hands.  I think I would have been able to cut into it if I used an actual chef’s knife (i.e. what you use to cut vegetables), but I was pressed for time and impatient.  I was also sad that about half of it completely stuck to the wax paper – I ended up throwing that part away 😥

Despite all of this failure, the output tastes wonderful!  It’s kind of like a regular rice crispies treat, except with a texture that’s much chewier, stickier, and thicker.  The flavor is also to die for…in a way I am glad that I ended up throwing some of it a way, because it’s very possible I would have eaten all of it in one sitting!  Yay for my taste buds, but not for my tummy!

Chocolate Almond Butter Chews (adapted from here)

  • 1/2 cup chunky almond butter
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups rice crisp cereal (if you’re gluten intolerant, check to make sure they’re certified gluten-free)
  • 6 tbsp brown rice syrup
  • 2 tbsp chocolate chips (mini or regular should work), or chopped chocolate

Put the almond butter, vanilla, and brown rice syrup in a pot.  Heat to a boil, then let simmer for 2-3 minutes.  Remove from heat, and mix in the crisp rice cereal and chocolate chips.  Pour into an 8×8 baking dish lined with parchment paper.  Place in the fridge for a few hours, then use a sturdy kitchen knife to cut into pieces, or tear out pieces with your hands.

It may not be the prettiest dessert ever, and the difficulty in cutting it into pieces is a slight inconvenience…but it’s so unlike any sweet treat that I have ever tasted that I 100% recommend it anyway 🙂

This entry was posted in chocolate, dessert, gluten-free, no-bake. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate Almond Butter Chews

  1. Karen says:

    Please make this for me, without the chocolate!!!

  2. Pingback: Blueberry Muffins with Streusel Topping | Dandy Apples

Leave a Reply

