Sprinkles’ Vegan Red Velvet Cupcake

A couple of weeks ago I got my hair cut at a salon I had never been to before in the Stanford Shopping Center.  This was a big first for me – prior to this I always got my hair cut when I went home during break, at a salon near my house.   For various reasons I didn’t end up going home for Spring Break this year, which meant I needed to find a new salon here so I could get my hair cut.   Anyway, now to the point of my story – it just so happens that there’s a Sprinkles Cupcakes shop in the same shopping center, so what better way to celebrate this “first” than to eat a delicious, hand-crafted cupcake?  (Ok, maybe I just got the cupcake because I was craving it :-p)

I went with their Vegan Red Velvet, which is the only vegan cupcake they offer.  It was the second time I’ve had it, and just as good as I remember it.

Here is the description of it from the Sprinkles website:

“Sprinkles goes vegan! Traditional dairy products are substituted with vegan friendly ingredients, including all natural soymilk, tofu-based cream cheese and pure coconut oil. The result is a cake so moist and frosting so rich, it just might inspire your friends to go vegan too!”

I definitely agree with this description of the cupcake.  The frosting is very creamy and rich, and I did not taste any soy or tofu flavor in it.  The cake is not dry at all (I wonder if coconut oil makes for a moister cake?), and has just a small hint of chocolate, as is traditional for the red velvet flavor.  The ratio of frosting to cake is also pretty close to optimal (for me, at least), and I like how the frosting is spread evenly over the top of the cupcake instead of piled higher towards the center.  But what I really love about this cupcake is the level of sweetness.  While it is definitely sweeter than the desserts I make at home, the sweetness is not overwhelming to my taste buds, and does not make me feel gross or jittery afterwards (which has been my reaction to some other “gourmet” cupcakes.)  All in all, I’m not sure how I could improve upon this luscious dessert!

So the next time you’re near a Sprinkles Cupcakes shop (it looks like they have quite a few locations all over the US), and are in the mood for a sweet splurge, consider trying the Vegan Red Velvet!  And if anyone who works for Sprinkles is reading this (although I highly doubt that, haha), please consider adding more vegan cupcake flavors to your collection!

This entry was posted in dessert, no recipe, review. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sprinkles’ Vegan Red Velvet Cupcake

  1. Meg says:

    i love the little V. thats adorable!

  2. dandyapples says:

    I know…I like the little “dots” they put on the other cupcakes too 🙂

Leave a Reply

