Strawberry Coconut Butter

This past weekend, two of my friends and me taught a class to middle- and high-school students through a program called Splash.  We showed them how to extract DNA from strawberries!

(source)

Did you know that strawberries are octoploid?!  (Meaning, they have 8 copies of each chromosome.)  I didn’t either, until I started teaching this class 😉  Humans, of course, are diploid – they only have two copies of their DNA (one from Mom and one from Dad :))

Ok, enough of the science lesson, let’s get on to the food!  I recently saw a recipe for Strawberry Coconut Butter on Amber Shea’s blog, and so in the spirit of my strawberry DNA extraction class, decided now would be a good time to make it!

Strawberry Coconut Butter (adapted from this recipe)

  • 1 cup coconut butter
  • 1 1/2 cup sliced fresh (or thawed frozen) strawberries
  • Big pinch of sea salt
  • Optional: white granulated sugar to taste

To make, simply put all of the ingredients in a food processor or a blender and blend until the mixture is smooth.  Add sugar as desired.  The full recipe makes about 2 cups, and I’m not sure how long it will last in the fridge – maybe 1-2 weeks.   I ended up halving the recipe because I wasn’t sure if I could finish eating two cups in that amount of time.

Well now you might be thinking, ‘I’ve never even heard of Strawberry Coconut Butter,  so what exactly would I do with 1-2 cups of it?!’

Well, you can jazz up your peanut butter sandwich…

…or spread it on a dessert pancake for one, as shown here with some blueberries and brown sugar sprinkled on top…

(Side-note:  these pancakes are really awesome with spelt flour!)

…or if you don’t feel like making anything at all, just eat it with a spoon. 🙂  I won’t tell anybody!

I’m sure there are many more yummy possibilities.  If you end up making this luscious strawberry coconut butter, let me know how you decided to consume it!

This entry was posted in breakfast, dessert, gluten-free, no-bake. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Strawberry Coconut Butter

  1. mtmichelle says:

    Yes, at first I was like do you do with it? Looks yummy!!! Especially the last one, haha, that’s what I do with Nutella :X Hmm.. Nutella + Strawberry Coconut….

Leave a Reply

