I’m back!

Hello all!  Sorry I haven’t posted in so long – in the past few weeks I have been (nearly) drowning in a pool of perl scripts, stat mech equations, unix commands, and tax forms!  I’m finally starting to make my way out of the pool, though, which means I can now post here 🙂

Today I bring you my very first recipe that I created myself: pumpkin pie bites!  I was originally planning to post this on Pi Day (March 14th), but as you can see that did not work out :-/  I used the recipe in my chocolate fudge bites post as a guide.  With these date-y no-bake desserts, it’s actually not too hard to create a delicious treat without a recipe.  I encourage you to make your own!

 Pumpkin Pie Bites

  • 9 pitted dates (I used Medjool dates)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/16 tsp salt
  • 1 T shredded coconut
  • scant 1/2 cup raw pecans
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Throw all of the ingredients into a food processor, and blend until the mixture forms one big mass.  Roll into little balls (mine are approximately 1 inch in diameter.)

That’s it!

Ok, I know they look like meatballs, but they really do taste similar to actual pumpkin pie 🙂  They also may be really gooey right after you make them, but they will firm up more (and taste better, in my opinion) at least 12-24 hours later.

Well, I am hoping from now on I can post at least once every 1-2 weeks.  Otherwise I may go through dessert withdrawal!!

This entry was posted in chocolate, dessert, gluten-free, no-bake. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m back!

  1. mtmichelle says:

    Are they even better chilled?! I like chilled pumpkin pie 🙂

  2. mtmichelle says:

    Maybe this is some sort of April Fools recipe!??!

  3. dandyapples says:

    Sorry, I forgot to approve your comments >.<

    I think they would taste good chilled also. And nope, not an April Fools recipe :-p

  4. infjvariant says:

    ooo. Looks like you paid some attention to making the photo look pretty with the ribbons. it is turning out very well… and the pumpkin bites are very yummy. yes, i was given some. =) They are sweeter when eaten right after making, and for some reason, become less sweet after chilled. I prefer less sweet.

Leave a Reply

