Cafe Gratitude Desserts

No recipes today, just wanted to post about some wonderful cookies that my mom picked up for me last night from Cafe Gratitude!  Cafe Gratitude is a chain of restaurants that specialize in organic vegan dishes, both raw and cooked.  Most of their locations are in the bay area, although apparently they have to close some of them after losing a lawsuit.  They were originally planning to close all bay area locations – let’s be glad that didn’t happen!

Me being the dessert freak that I am, I’ve already had a bite (or a few more 😉 ) of each one.  Let me first say that although these cookies look small, they really pack a punch!  Full of intense flavor, and very rich.  They are also all raw (I think).  The one in the top right-hand corner tasted like very dark chocolate, but also had some other flavor component that I can’t quite put my finger on – I almost want to say that it was fruity?  Whatever it was, it definitely tasted interesting.  The one in the lower right-hand corner seemed to have coconut and lemon in it, and was the lightest of the four.  The one in the lower left-hand corner was essentially a chocolate macaroon, and the remaining one…well, it was definitely my favorite!  It was essentially a truffle, with a very luscious and smooth, albeit odd-colored, ganache inside.  I’m talking grey-green here.  I have no idea what was in it, especially considering the color, but it was good enough for me to finish the whole thing in less than a minute flat!

My mom also gave me a slice of their “I am Bliss” raw Chocolate Cream pie, which also happened to have hazelnut.  Similar to their cookies, I liked how it was more on the “rich” side than the “sweet” side. The crust was also a little spicy-sweet, which gave it a nice kick. I quickly devoured it before I realized that maybe I should take a picture 🙂

All in all, Cafe Gratitude is a great place to go if you want some healthy vegan food, and if you’re in the mood for some heavenly, out-of-the-ordinary desserts!

This entry was posted in no recipe, review. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cafe Gratitude Desserts

  1. infjvariant says:

    I want to try the top right one!

  2. MT says:

    ” I quickly devoured it before I realized that maybe I should take a picture ”
    Of course you would.. HAHAHA ;D
    They sound heavenly…… I’ll try to remember to check that out the next time I’m in the bay 🙂

  3. Mmmm! Those cookies look divine!

Leave a Reply

