Granola

I ate a gigantic piece of non-vegan carrot cake this past week!  Seriously, the slice was almost the size of my head.  In my defense, it didn’t cost me anything (thanks Stanford Biophysics!), but as a result I was not in the mood to make anything too sweet.  I have been meaning to take a stab at a granola recipe for a while, so this seemed like a good opportunity to do so.

This is only my second time making granola; the first time was a few years ago in college, using a recipe from one of Mark Bittman’s books.  Similar to the first time, this granola has a slightly burnt taste 😦  I think it’s mainly coming from the walnuts, and the first time I think it came from shredded coconut.  I mean, it makes some sense – the components of the granola are all different sizes and textures, so some are bound to bake faster than others.  The only solution I can determine is to reduce the overall baking time; specifically, stop baking when any part of the granola looks like it’s turning black!

Here’s the original recipe I used, with my own modifications in parentheses:

Granola (adapted from Angela’s Favourite Homemade Granola)

Dry ingredients:

  • 2.5 cups rolled oats (regular not instant)
  • 1 cup raw almonds, roughly chopped (I’m lazy so I did not chop them)
  • 1/2 cup raw walnuts, roughly chopped (I used pecans instead)
  • 1/2 cup raw sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup raw sesame seeds
  • 2 tbsp ground flax
  • 2 tbsp sweetened coconut flakes
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • Pinch of ground nutmeg
  • 3/4 tsp kosher salt

Wet ingredients:

  • 3-4 tbsp brown rice syrup
  • 1 tbsp agave nectar
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp applesauce, unsweetened
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar (I used about half this amount, but the granola was just barely sweet)

Add-ins:

  • 1/3 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/3 cup raisins
  • handful pepita seeds

Preheat oven to 300F.  Mix together the wet ingredients in a pot.  Heat until boiling, then simmer for 5-10 minutes, making sure to stir every so often.  Meanwhile, mix together the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl.  After the the wet ingredients are done simmering (should still be warm), add in the dry ingredients and mix mix mix, until everything is well-combined.

Put the granola on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, or aluminum foil with a thin layer of coconut oil (which is what I did.)  Bake for 30-45 minutes.  Toss the granola around every 10-15 minutes to ensure even baking.  And if your walnuts look like they’re turning black, stop baking immediately!

As with pretty much all granola recipes, the amounts and kinds of nuts/sweeteners/add-ins you put in can be adapted to suit your taste.  I was pretty faithful to Angela’s version, and although I thought the combination was very good, I’m not sure I would call it my favorite granola.  For now, I think I’ll keep experimenting, and once I reach my own optimal granola recipe I’ll be sure to share it with you!

This entry was posted in breakfast. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Granola

  1. infjvariant says:

    Good luck trying new recipes! I can be your taster!

  2. Pingback: Carrot Muffins | Dandy Apples

Leave a Reply

