Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

Valentine’s Day was this week, and I ended up making two different desserts! On Sunday I made chocolate chip cookie bars, inspired by Katie’s Healthy Deep Dish Cookie Pie.  Here is her original recipe:

  • 2 cans white beans or garbanzos (drained and rinsed) (500g total, once drained)
  • 1 cup quick oats (or certified-gf quick oats)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 3 T canola oil
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 and 1/2 cups brown sugar (You can sub evaporated cane juice or white sugar)
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Blend everything (except the chips) very well in a good food processor (not a blender). Mix in chips, and pour into an oiled pan (I used a 10-inch springform pan, but you can use a smaller pan if you want a really deep-dish pie.) Cook at 350F for around 35-40 minutes. Let stand at least 10 minutes before removing from the pan.

I adapted the recipe by multiplying all of the ingredient amounts by 3/4 and also slightly reducing the sugar, and I put the batter in an 8×8 baking dish rather than a 10-inch springform cake pan  because I didn’t have the cake pan.  I reduced the recipe slightly because I wasn’t sure if the 8×8 dish would be big enough for the full recipe, but there was definitely room for more batter, so don’t let that hinder you from making the full version 🙂

 

You’ll notice that this dessert contains BEANS!  I remember being kind of grossed out when I first read the recipe a few months ago – I definitely didn’t associate garbanzo beans with sweet treats.  However, Katie also mentioned that Chinese desserts often  include beans, and I thought – of course!  I practically fell in love with red bean paste when I visited China more than 7 years ago, so I figured that the beans here would be a great contribution to the dessert – and I was correct 🙂  If you still don’t believe me, then go to her post and read one of the 600+ (positive!) comments on the recipe!

I now have my own success story with these delectable treats.  I ended up taking them to a potluck dinner at the International Center, and one person declared it was the best dessert there!  I didn’t tell her that it had beans in it though, shh 😉

Check back tomorrow for another Valentine’s Day-inspired dessert!

This entry was posted in chocolate, dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

  1. MT says:

    Yeah that does sound kind of gross, but good point about the beans. I associate garbanzo beans with hummus, though, so definitely a savory thought. What is the texture of the cookies? I’d imagine they’d be chewy?

  2. dandyapples says:

    Hm, I don’t know if I would describe them as chewy….they’re kind of like a brownie in texture, but maybe a little bit more firm.

Leave a Reply

