Hello (blog) world!

Hi everybody!  My name is Arielle and I am excited to be starting a food-related blog.  I really love desserts, but I also try to eat healthy most of the time.  As a result, I hope to mainly post here about my endeavors in kitchen making healthy vegan sweets!  Although I am not completely vegan, I have found that vegan treats taste just as good as their animal product-counterparts.  Since they’re usually better for you, they don’t depend on animals, and you don’t have to worry as much about icky things like salmonella – why not make/eat them instead?

So now, onto the first recipe!  This week I decided to make basic oatmeal squares from Angela’s blog, OhSheGlows.  The recipe is here – the only change I made was replacing the oat flour with white whole wheat flour (the only reason I did this was because I was too lazy to blend my oats!)  I assume you can sub in other types of flour as well.

It is definitely true that these are basic, and not very sweet.  Angela suggests putting in nuts, dried fruit, chocolate chips, etc. to jazz them up a bit.  You can also pair them with some tasty accompaniments.  I spread coconut butter on mine, with some maple syrup and sliced banana on the side – almost like how you would eat pancakes.  It was delicious.

I also sliced it in half and made a peanut butter-jelly-oatmeal square sandwich, along with some pomegranate seeds.

Overall, the squares were a nice alternative to my usual boring cereal/oatmeal breakfast 🙂  Now that I have this blog, I hope to start eating more interesting breakfasts like this one!

This entry was posted in breakfast. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello (blog) world!

  1. Choon says:

    Looks so yummy! Can’t wait to try it out!!! Congrats on your first blog post!!! And congrats me to be the first person to write on your post!

Leave a Reply

