Dessert Pancake For One

I know I said I would have a post up this past weekend, and I am only just now posting on Monday night.    :-/

The truth is, this past weekend I was stressed out.  This morning, I had to give lab meeting, and right afterwards I had to turn in my take-home midterm for statistical mechanics.

It was not pretty.

So what happens when a stressed-out, over-worked girl still wants to eat a quick, easy and yummy healthy dessert?

She makes a dessert pancake for one.

My inspiration for these were Katie’s single lady cupcakes and muffins.  At first I thought it was a little silly to have a recipe for just one muffin.  But once I tried it out, I saw that the preparation does go faster when you’re only making a single serving.  You also get a nice, warm muffin everytime!  The moment I read on her blog that you can bake them in the microwave as well, I was hooked.  I made single-serving muffins everytime I craved one (which was about once or twice a week, heh.)

There was only one slight problem:  the muffins turned out more dry when they were baked in the microwave rather than in the oven.  I just dealt with this issue for a while (my laziness/impatience takes precedence over the texture of my baked goods!), until one day I decided to make them with applesauce instead of oil, and I added a wee bit too much milk.

The result?  Dessert pancake for one!

Dessert Pancake for One

  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/16 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp brown sugar (can omit this)
  • 2 tbsp applesauce
  • 2 tbsp milk (I like almond milk)
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • For the most amazing topping ever:  coconut butter, 1-2 tsp brown sugar

Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl, then add and mix in wet.  Try not to over-mix.  Microwave for 1.5 – 2 minutes.  Top with the most amazing topping ever!

So next time you’re facing a time crunch but are yearning for a fabulous healthy dessert, have no fear:  the dessert pancake for one is here!

This entry was posted in dessert, single-serving. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dessert Pancake For One

  1. MT says:

    Oh… that’s a really good idea. A lot of times I “have to” bake a dozen cupcakes / muffins so then I end up sharing with coworkers and friends. But…I don’t have a microwave anymore :P Maybe if I got a toaster oven..

  2. dandyapples says:

    You don’t have a microwave anymore?! How do you survive????

  3. infjvariant says:

    Oh nice. I like to have such ‘instant’ desserts.

    If it dries up too fast in the microwave, maybe lower the power settings will help!

  4. Pingback: Strawberry Coconut Butter | Dandy Apples

  5. Pingback: Cake Batter Frosting | Dandy Apples

Leave a Reply

