Chocolate Fudge Bites

Now for the second Valentine’s Day-inspired dessert this week:  chocolate fudge bites!  I made these from another one of Katie’s recipes, German-Chocolate Fudge Bites, though I changed it slightly.  Here is my version:

Chocolate Fudge Bites

  • 3/4 cup pitted dates, plus one extra date
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/16 tsp salt
  • 2 T cocoa powder
  • 2 T shredded coconut
  • scant 1/2 cup raw pecans
  • 1 tbsp chocolate chips

Blend all ingredients together very well in a food processor, until the “dough” forms one big mass.  Roll into little balls, and enjoy!  Just as a note, they are a little sticky, and I would recommend storing them in the refrigerator.

The recipe is very similar to hers, but I added an extra date because after I started blending everything it looked a little too “nutty”.  But then it looked a little too “date-y”, so I threw in the chocolate chips.  I wasn’t originally planning on adding them, since she said they were optional, but I really think it was a great addition to the recipe!

The end result was a fudgey, ganache-like ball of chocolate bliss!

Mmm…heavenly and healthy.  What more could you ask for in a dessert?

I took a few of these to my lab on Valentine’s Day, but it was also my advisor’s birthday so we surprised him with a cake.  I’m in a pretty small lab, and we had to finish the whole cake, so I think that’s partly why the lab didn’t manage to finish all of the fudge bites by the end of the day.  Oh well – just means more chocolatey-goodness for me!  :)

This entry was posted in chocolate, dessert, gluten-free, no-bake. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate Fudge Bites

  1. MT says:

    Wow those sound amazing! How did you store them in the fridge? Will they stick together? Or do you need to separate them and refrigerate to harden before they can be safely transported in a more compact container?

  2. dandyapples says:

    Yes I stored them in the fridge, and they do stick together a little bit. I think if you wanted to transport them without having them stick together, you could try putting each one in a mini-muffin liner.

  3. Pingback: I’m back! | Dandy Apples

Leave a Reply

